Anna Arzhanova has been re-elected President of the World Underwater Federation ©Getty Images

Anna Arzhanova has been re-elected as President of the World Underwater Federation (CMAS).

Arzhanova, who has led the CMAS since 2013, defeated former secretary general Hassan Bassouche to extend her tenure in the role at the General Assembly in Sharm El Sheikh, held on the eve of the Finswimming World Cup Golden Final.

Speaking about her re-election Arzhanova said: "I am honoured by the trust of CMAS National Federations. 

"I was first elected President in 2013 and this re-election confirms the tremendous team work and progress made so far is appreciated.

"It is now time to look to the future, expand the work of CMAS in sport, diving and scientific fields, and take on the numerous challenges of a rapidly changing world."

The General Assembly’s opening address was given by the President of the Global Association of International Sports Federations and the Association of International Olympic Committee Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF) Raffaele Chiulli, who spoke about the importance of sport.

"I have no doubt that CMAS will continue to capitalise on its achievements in the best interests of its Member Federations and ultimately in that of its athletes, divers and scientists who make up this fantastic organisation," said Chiulli.

GAISF and ARISF President Raffaele Chiulli addressed the CMAS General Assembly in Sharm-El-Sheikh ©GAISF
GAISF and ARISF President Raffaele Chiulli addressed the CMAS General Assembly in Sharm-El-Sheikh ©GAISF

The CMAS, founded in 1959, is a member of ARISF.  

Egyptian Minister of Youth and Sports Ashraf Sobhy virtually addressed the meeting and wished organisers every success for their end of season event, scheduled to conclude on Monday (November 8).

A total of 82 federations participated in the General Assembly which saw a new Board of Directors elected.

The new Board of Directors features vice-presidents Alain Germain of France and William Peña of Colombia, secretary general Kevin O’Shaughnessy of Ireland and Ilias Xiarchos of Greece as treasurer.

Flemming Holm of Denmark is President of the Technical Committee, Michel Gaunard of France is President of the Sport Committee and Francisco LaCase of Argentina is the President of the Scientific Committee.

The rest of the Board members are Simon Khoury of Lebanon, Sameh El Shazly of Egypt, Bozana Ostojic of Serbia, Alex Wong of Hong Kong, Frank Slabbert of South Africa, Shunji Yoshizawa of Japan, Chul Sik Kang of Korea, Gabor Papp of Hungary, Ulrich Wolf of Germany, Jean Marc Goiran of Monaco and Juan Gomez of Mexico.

The ongoing Finswimming World Cup Golden Final has attracted more than 1,000 entries from 16 countries.