Eligible impairment types: 

  • Impaired muscle power
  • Impaired passive range of movement
  • Limb deficiency
  • Leg length difference
  • Athetosis
  • Hypertonia
  • Ataxia

Sport classes

There are two sport classes in sitting volleyball, called MD for “Minimally Disabled” and D for “Disabled”. The impairment of athletes in sport class MD is generally less severe than the impairment of athletes competing in sport class D.

For example, with an amputation through the foot a player would be classified as MD, whereas athletes with above knee amputations would be allocated sport class D. Impairments can affect the lower and the upper limbs, for example causing stiffness of joints or shortening of extremities.

Sport technical rules 

To ensure a fair competition between two teams, a team may only have one MD player on the court. The other five players must have sport class D.