The UCI Junior Track Cycling Championships begin tomorrow in the Egyptian capital Cairo ©Getty Images

The International Cycling Union (UCI) Junior Track Cycling World Championships returns tomorrow in the Egyptian capital Cairo at the new velodrome in the capital's Nasr City district, featuring 22 events.

Last year’s event was not held because of the COVID-19 pandemic, and this will be the first time it has been hosted in Africa since Cape Town in South Africa back in 2008.

At its last edition in Frankfurt, it was the hosts Germany who topped the medal table with five gold medals, followed by New Zealand on three, Greece and the United States on two, and eight nations on one.

The 250 metre wooden track at the Cairo International Velodrome has be built by Germany's Walter Von Lutcken and his team, and meets the standards required for international competition.

Hosts Egypt’s 12 riders are scheduled to compete in 19 of the 22 events.

Abdulla Afify is ranked third by the UCI in the men’s junior omnium and junior points race, and second in the junior elimination.

Egypt is also ranked third in both the men’s and women’s junior team sprint.

After qualifying events in the women’s and men’s team pursuit and team sprint as well as the women’s five kilometres scratch, the first final due to be held tomorrow will be the women’s 7.5 kilometres scratch, followed by the women’s and men’s team sprint.

Thursday (September 2) is set to feature medal events in the men’s team pursuit, 10km scratch and keirin, as well as the women’s team pursuit and elimination.

The first finals of Friday (September 3) are scheduled to be the men’s 25km points race and individual pursuit, followed by the women’s sprint and omnium.

The winners of the women’s 500 metres time trial, 20km points race and individual pursuit will be decided on Saturday (September 4), as will the men’s sprint and omnium.

The Junior Track Cycling World Championships are due to draw to a close on Sunday (September 5), with finals in the men’s elimination, women’s 20km madison and men’s 1km time trial, and then the women’s keirin and men’s 30km madison.