There were 14 winners at this year's British Universities and Colleges Sport Awards ©BUCS

World Athletics President Sebastian Coe hailed the "inspiring" efforts of the university sport community during the COVID-19 crisis at the British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) Awards.

Coe opened the virtual ceremony with a video message where he predicted that students will come back "wiser, stronger and more determined" to make the "best-ever" BUCS season after a disruptive 2020.

A total of 14 winners were announced by a host of famous sporting faces, including six Olympians, one Paralympian, one Commonwealth Games gold medallist and one Six Nations champion.

"Over the last year, we’ve witnessed the majority sports leagues, events and competitions grind to a halt," said Coe.

"While demotivating and, as an athlete I truly do understand, it is inspiring to see how university sport has continued to find ways to adapt offer sport and physical activity, and how teams and individuals have come together to create a sense of community and a strong bond that will stand for years to come.

"While we have lost competition, we’ve gained compassion, kindness and community.

"With over 150 nominations, these awards are certainly testament to that.

"We will recognise everything from elite athletes’ successes to the charity initiatives undertaken by students to the impressive work done to further diversity and inclusion, to the efforts by university to keep students active.

"Granted, no-one could have predicted the past year, but few people could have predicted the incredible determination, attitude, and hard work to make sport happen.

"The sector will come out wiser, stronger and more determined to make the 2021-22 season the best-ever BUCS season."

Angus Bradley, a fourth year medical student at the University of Nottingham, secured the COVID Student Hero award in recognition of his voluntary work with the East Midlands Ambulance Service and the university’s first responders, as well as playing hockey.

The COVID Alumni Hero honour went to Elizabeth Tallett of the University of Nottingham and Dr Polly Swann of the University of Edinburgh.

Barnaby Halliwell, a fencer at Durham University, and Savannah Marshall, a boxer at Teesside University, received the respective Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year prizes.

Pride in UEA Sport at the University of East Anglia claimed the Diversity and Inclusion Award, while Steve Harris of the University of Birmingham was named the Unsung Hero.

A total of five Special Recognition Awards were handed out, with Dainiel Muti of the University of Edinburgh, Fran Williams of the University of Birmingham, Diana Dakik of the University of Surrey, Libby Bonus of the University of East Anglia and Megan Ashford of Sheffield Hallam University winning the prestigious prize.

The University of Nottingham Football Club achieved the Club Charity Initiative honour, the University of Hull’s Move4Tune champion for Lymphoma Action won the Institution Charity Initiative prize and Luke Gunn of the University of Birmingham was the recipient of the Inspiration Coach Award.

The other winners included the late George Gandy and Oscar Ukwizagira of the University of Edinburgh, winners of the Ad Munrow Award and Dan Porter Award respectively, while the University of Nottingham's Women's Rugby Committee clinched the Inspirational Committee Award and King's College London earned the Digital Engagement Award.