China claimed all four gold medals on the opening day ©FINA

China claimed all four golds on the opening day of the International Swimming Federation (FINA) Diving World Series event in Fuji, Japan.

Having secured all 10 titles on offer at the series opener in Beijing, Chinese divers were seeking to maintain their domination at the Shizuoka Prefectural Fuji Swimming Pool.

Zhang Jiaqi and Zhang Minjie ensured their team got off to an ideal start, as the duo added to their women’s synchronised platform title from last week.

The duo managed a score of 335.70 to win the event, having lead from start to finish.

They were followed by Kim Mi Rae and Kim Kuk Hyang, with the North Koreans scoring 311.58.

Malaysia’s Pandelela Pamg and Jun Hoong Cheong rounded off the podium on 310.32.

Chen Aisen and Yang Hao secured China’s second title, with the world champions scoring 449.91 in the men’s event, despite battling injuries.

Viktor Minibaev and Aleksandr Bondar of Russia won silver on 418.02, with Ukraine’s Oleksandr Gorshkovozov and Maksym Dolgov winning bronze by managing a tally of 410.46.

World champion Chang Yani and Shi Tingmao then combined to good effect in the women’s 3m synchronised springboard final.

Chang Yani and Shi Tingmao won the women’s 3m synchronised springboard event ©FINA
Chang Yani and Shi Tingmao won the women’s 3m synchronised springboard event ©FINA

The Chinese divers scored 319.80 to win gold, with Georgia Sheehan and Esther Qin of Australia some way back in second on 294.60.

Melissa Beaulieu and Jennifer Abel of Canada managed 287.43 for bronze.

Cao Yuan and Xie Siyi completed China’s domination on the opening day, as they won the men’s event with 433.02 points.

Evgenii Kuznetsov and Ilia Zakharov of Russia collected silver with a score of 412.71.

Local divers Ken Terauchi and Sho Sakai gave Japan their first medal of their maiden World Series event by scoring 391.29.

Competition will continue tomorrow.